Sewerby’s Robinson sweeps the board

Sewerby CC presentation night.
Sewerby CC presentation night.

Chairman Mike Griffiths welcomed members and friends to Sewerby Cricket Club’s annual dinner and presentation evening at Rags Restaurant.

After the meal, gifts were presented to Val Rennoldson, John Blythe, John Wilson and Aldred Bostwick for their services as umpire and scorers.

The presentations to individuals started with The Chairman’s cup for most wickets for the first XI in the York Senior League to Russ Robinson, who took 40 victims.

Club president Ken Saul, then made the following presentations: The Jamieson Cup for most first XI runs in the York Senior League to Russ Robinson (794 runs).

The Second XI Batting and Bowling Cups to Cameron Rushbridge-Burns (256 runs and 26 wickets).

The Third XI Batting Cup for most 3rd XI runs to Paul Dandy (159 runs) and the Third XI Bowling Cup for most 3rd XI wickets to Ben Potter (19 wickets).

The Langton Fourth XI Batting and Bowling Cup to Rob Traves (174 runs and 15 wickets).

The Most Improved Player Award went to Ricky Robinson and The Crofts Cup for the Fielder of the Year to Russ Robinson.

The Player of the Year Shield, a prestigious award given to the player who has amassed the most points during the season earned by scoring runs, taking wickets and catches – irrespective of which team he plays for – was won by Russ Robinson with 140 points.

The player of the year awards went to Russ Robinson, Cameron Rushbridge-Burns, Ben Potter and Ashley Porter.

Club Caps, for outstanding performance on the field of play, were awarded to Ricky Robinson and Ben Potter.

Entertainment was then provided by local vocalist and songwriter Leanne Burton, before a raffle and quiz.

Sewerby CC AGM will be at the Ship Inn in Sewerby on 24 November at 7pm with all members to attend