Second biggest run chase ever in Premier Division

editorial image

Sewerby visited Acomb on a scorching day and having lost the toss were asked to bowl first on a rock hard wicket and with a lightning fast outfield.

Despite frequent bowling changes Sewerby were unable to make a breakthrough and Acomb openers Dale and Tute put on 185 for the first wicket in 34 overs before Shaun Acton deflected a drive from Tute on to the stumps at the bowlers end and Dale was run out for a fine 81.

Having had a poor opening spell, Russ Robinson then returned to the attack and with his first ball took a return catch from Tute who had scored 88.

Aidy Long came back and took two wickets with his first three balls and Robinson followed this up three overs later with another two.

A late flurry from Halstead with 34 from 17 balls enabled Acomb to reach 290/9 from 50 overs with Robinson finishing with 5-61 and Long 2-45.

Sewerby openers Ben Dobson and Luke Jennison showed their intent from the first ball taking 28 from the first two overs and putting on 72 in 12 overs before Jennison was out for 26.

Lewis Beasley joined Dobson and these two took the score to 153 after 30 overs before Dobson was caought on the boundary for 72, with 10 fours and one six.

The in-form Russ Robinson joined Beasley and they took the score to 197 before Beasley was out for a fine 69. Another wicket fell next ball and Sewerby were left needing 90 to win from the last 10 overs.

Chris Chapman joined Robinson and they kept the score ticking over before letting loose with seven overs to go. 59 runs were scored from the next four overs and when Chapman was caught on the boundary for 30 from 24 balls Mike Artley came in and hit his second ball for four to take Sewerby to a stunning victory with eight balls to spare.

Robinson finished with 77 not out scored from 55 balls with six fours and three sixes.