Thornicroft and Eyre win Beckett Cricket League Merit Awards

Beckett cricket
Beckett cricket

Nawton Grange paceman Nick Thornicroft and Snainton batsman Michael Eyre claimed the Readers Scarborough Beckett Cricket League Merit Awards for April and May.

Thornicroft was way ahead of his rivals with an astonishing return of 10-18 against Staithes in the Premier Division on May 14, earning him the bowling award and a voucher with Owzat Cricket, North Marine Road, Scarborough, who have sponsored the awards for the 2016 season.

The second-placed bowler was Aussie all-rounder Alex Townsend, who snapped up 8-9 for Cayton on his league debut against Heslerton, also in the Premier Division, on May 7.

Eyre's massive unbeaten 147 for Division Four leaders Snainton in their hammering of Filey 2nds, also on May 14, saw him beat James Bryant's unbeaten 132 for Wykeham against Cayton 2nds in Division One on May 28.

Winners of the Readers Scarborough Beckett Cricket League Merit Awards for April/May 2016

Batting (Top five innings)

1 Michael Eyre 147no (Snainton v Filey 2nds, May 14, Division Four).

2 James Bryant 132no (Wykeham v Cayton 2nds, May 28, Division One).

3 Leigh Franks 127no (Flixton 2nds v Filey, April 24, Premier Division).

4 Craig Sanderson 127 (Sherburn v Staxton 2nds, May 28, Division One).

5 Craig Sanderson 122no (Sherburn v Cayton 2nds, May 29, Division One).

(In total, 10 centuries were scored, along with 102 half-centuries).

Bowling (Top Five analysis)

1 Nick Thornicroft 10-18 (Nawton Grange v Staithes, May 14, Premier Division).

2 Alex Townsend 8-9 (Cayton v Heslerton, May 7, Premier Division).

3 Frankie Beal 7-17 (Ebberston v Flixton 2nds, May 28, Premier Division).

4 Leigh Watson 7-23 (Snainton v Cloughton 2nds, May 7, Division Four)

5 Peter Milner 7-25 (Cloughton v Thornton Dale, May 7, Division One).

(In total there were 34 five-wicket hauls).