O’Neill’s team clinch trophy

The winning team in the Barker Trophy.
The winning team in the Barker Trophy.

The final round of the popular Barker Trophy Winter Alliance series took place last Sunday, with the stage set for an exciting climax to the series.

The team led by Rory O’Neill carried a slender three shot lead over Chris Goodwin’s team going into this final round and the trophy was there for the taking.

Unfortunately, it was a disappointing day for Goodwin’s team, who couldn’t quite produce the scores necessary to overturn a very impressive finish by O’Neill’s men.

In the end they raced to victory by a large margin of 14 shots.

This was helped by three very consistent scores of 65 (Steve Varley and Alan Hargreaves), 66 (John Rollisson and Paul Miller) and 67 (Steve Ayres and Daniel Metcalfe).


Individual Scores

1st: Steve Varley/Alan Hargreaves 65

2nd: John Kilvington/Graham Anderson 65

3rd: John Rollisson/Paul Miller 66

Aggregate Team Scores

1st: Rory O’Neill’s Team 1207

2nd: Chris Goodwin 1221

3rd: Martin Adams 1238

4th: Dean Thompson 1244

5th: Jim Howbridge 1265