Kiwi Thompson named Brid’s player of the year

Otis Floyd (left) was most improved player and James Thompson won the player of the year award.
Otis Floyd (left) was most improved player and James Thompson won the player of the year award.

James Thompson was named Bridlington RUFC’s player of the year at the club’s end-of-season presentation night.

The number eight picked up the first team’s top honour, while Otis Floyd was the most improved first XV player.

Teenagers took the awards for the Mariners, with matty Faulkner winning player of the year and Ben Wollerton the most improved trophy

Matty Taylor was the Marauders’ player of the year and Daniel Kempton the most improved squad member.

For the colts, Josh Raynor won the top award, with Jem Kutevu’s progress also recognised.

The previous evening, the directors and committee positions for the 2015/16 season were confirmed at the club’s AGM.

Directors: David Jackson, David Allison, Richard Watts, Jon Rowbottom, Neil Arton, Bruce Raper and Richard Medforth.

Club president: Neil Arton

Chair of General Committee, club welfare officer and club registrar: Emma Ridley

Director junior rugby: Jon Rowbottom

Finance director: Dave Jackson

Events and fund-raising: Neil Arton, supported by general committee members Mark Beckett, Steve Manton, Jason Stephenson, Grant Walkington and Paddy Hutchinson.

Fixture secretary and referee co-ordinator: John Waller

Pitches manager: Roy Downing

Press officer: Mal Binns

Youth development manager: Jack Bell

Minis co-ordinator, junior coach and kit man: Andy Kempton

House director: Richard Medforth House

Club manager: David Robinson

Club captain: Ryan Girking

Mariners captain: Rob Medforth

Marauders captain: Joe Franks

Marauders manager: Steve Carl