Josh Taylor earns third spot at York Yuletide Trail Race

Bridlington Road Runners were well represented at the York Yuletide Five Mile Trail Race - a two-lap route across fields, through woods and alongside the River Ouse.

Wednesday, 11th December 2019, 4:37 pm
Updated Wednesday, 11th December 2019, 4:38 pm
The Bridlington Road Runners at the Yuletide Race are, from left, Tom Fynn, Josh Taylor, Gillian Taylor, Dian Rewston and Linda Hall

Josh Taylor took third place overall, racing home in a time of 27:33.

Gillian Taylor was the first Bridlington runner home, 63rd overall in 40:10, and Tom Fynn sneaked into the top 100, finishing in 99th spot in 44:22.

Linda Hall was 190th in a time of 57:05 and Dian Rewston completed the Bridlington team’s effort, 213th in 1:07:17.

On Saturday, eight Road Runners tackled the Rudolph Romp, a 25-mile cross country event that begins at Brantingham Village Hall and covers the scenic Yorkshire Wolds with a full mix of terrain.

First home for the Bridlington club was Danny Brunton, who was placed 13th overall in a time of three hours and 28 minutes.

Martin Hutchinson, Lisa Cockcroft and Alan Feldberg ran together and completed the course in four hours and 39 minutes for 74th, 75th and 76th positions.

Donna Etchells, Verona Petty and Julie Madden were 124th, 125th and 126th, finishing together in five hours and 24 minutes.

Graham Lonsdale retired at the 21-mile point.

The race at Langdale End is always one of the toughest in the East Yorkshire Cross Country League series.

But conditions this year were among the muddiest and challenging the Bridlington Road Runners can remember.

The 5.3-mile route features 768ft of climbing and a river crossing, but that didn’t stop Scott Hargreaves powering to first place overall.

Full results are not in yet but Bridlington were also represented by Josh Taylor, Nick Jordan, Tom Mullen, Bill Pike, Alan Feldberg, Martin Hutchinson, Allan McFarlane, Adam Dyas,

Jonathan Ogden, Stephen Eblet, Simon Porter, Martin McPheat, Janet Potter, Stuart Gent, Stuart Bowes, Paul Brown, Bob Eyre, Dominique Webster, Heidi Baker, Dave Pring, Amanda Tindall and Kirsten Porter.

Phill Taylor was the winner of the Sewerby Parkrun, finishing almost a minute clear of his nearest rival.

Two of Brid Road Runners’ newest recruits made a big impression with Adam Thomas in 10th place and Gerard Ferre securing a PB time of 24:59.

Jennifer Chambers also beat her previous record for the course, finishing in 30:22 to claim 80th position.

Other notable achievements came from Tom Mullen and Bill Pike, who finished in the top 10, and Mollie Holehouse and Miriam Ireland, who were second and third females.

1 Phill Taylor 18:06, 3 Tom Mullen 20:52, 8 Bill Pike 21:33, 10 Adam Thomas 21:47, 11 Mollie Holehouse 21:49, 12 Adam Dyas 22:34, 13 Simon Ellerker 22:59, 20 Jason Pointez 24:01, 22 Miriam Ireland 24:17, 26 Stephen Eblet 24:57, 27 Gerard Ferre 24:59, 30 Stuart Gent 25:23, 52 Tracey Holehouse 27:48, 59 Stuart Bowes 28:17, 61 Dave Pring 28:39, 73 Sam Adams 29:33, 74 Ethan Jones (jnr) 29:41, 77 Kirsten Porter 30:09, 80 Jennifer Chambers 30:22, 94 Sandra Orlando 33:57, 98 Robert Calthorpe 34:35, 119 Andy Godfrey 40:10, 120 Tina Calthorpe 40:40.

Other Parkrun times: Bushey Parkrun: 93 Phillip Bearman 21:08; Goole Parkrun: 22 Patricia Bielby 24:13, 52 Paul Brown 28:38; Barnstaple Parkrun: 33 Justine Sutcliffe 23:20.

Finally, only a few copies of the 2020 Road Runners calendar are remaining.

Featuring 12 months of photos of club members in cheeky poses, they are available for £8 with proceeds being shared between two charities, Smile - for children born with a cleft palate - and the Macular Society.