Eyre and Wood pick up Road Runners’ top awards

Bridlington Road Runners news
Bridlington Road Runners news

Bridlington Road Runners enjoyed a quiet weekend of racing as they held their presentation evening at Bridlington links.

Bob Eyre and Sarah Wood won runners’ runner of the year honours with Zoe Ruston, Scott Hargreaves and Duncan Smart taking the most improved awards.

The most improved juniors were Emily Carver and Lewis Dale with the Champange Moment going to Dave Foster. Trophies were also given to Winter League Winners Mark Woodley and Wood, Anniversary Three winner Hargreaves, and Anniversary Three Handicap winners Anthony Hughes and Rose Shipley.

Earlier on Saturday, two of the young prize-winners were again competing at Cofton Park in Birmingham in the Inter-Counties Cross Country Championships. Carver and Dale were again part of the Humberside under-15s team. Carver was 128th out of a strong field of over 300 runners with a time of 19:08 in the 4km race and was first back for Humberside.

Dale was also tested in his race of 4.5km finishing 208th in 18:17 and also first home for Humberside.

The following day, Nick Jordan ran in the Spen 20 Mile, near Cleckheaton. Testing out his Manchester Marathon training, as he passed through villages of Scholes, Clifton, Roberttown and Hartshead, his time was 2:15:09.