Local darts players take on the pros

Division one winner Steve Rice with Tony O'Shea
Division one winner Steve Rice with Tony O'Shea

THE Bridlington Premier Darts League annual exhibition night took place at The Coachman.

THE Bridlington Premier Darts League annual exhibition night took place at The Coachman.

In front of a packed house Bridlington’s Premier League players took on the challenge of pitting their skills against two of the UK’s top darts professionals Gary ‘Big Robbo’ Robson and Tony ‘Silverback’ O’ Shea – hosted again by Bridlington’s very own Micky Dee.

The top 10 players in Division One and top six in Division Two earned their opportunity to play the professionals after 17 rounds of league darts held over 10 months throughout the year.

It was Steve Rice who won Division One for the fifth year on the trot, this year failing to lose a single game along the way – a fantastic achievement by any standards.

Barry Balaban came second for the second year running just pushing Scarborough’s Graham Elvidge into third place by the narrowest of margins.

In Division Two, the top three places were filled by newcomers.

Scarborough player Jim Gordon won Division Two following Graham Elvidge’s triumph last season with Bridlington’s Dave Bartlam securing second place and Scarborough again took third place with Oliver Mitchell taking the spoils.

The Bridlington Premier Darts League would like to thank everyone that helped out this season – I Shepherd and A Mudd for helping with the arduous task of setting up week in and week out, Steve Rice for constantly updating the website and all the markers who give up their time each week to score the games on the computers.

Also a big thanks to both the Coachman Pub, The Windsor Hotel and Roger Boysen (www.dartsforwindows.com) who all sponsor the league making it possible to make the league a success.

Finally, a massive thank you to all the players who support the league each season and organisers look forward to welcoming them back for the new season starting in March.

The League would like to wish Steve Rice the best of luck in the new Bridlington Free Press Sport’s Person of the Year awards following his achievements last year in winning the John Smiths People’s Darts Championship and picking BDO world ranking points in his appearances in several major tournaments last season.

Roll of Honour

Division One:

Winner: Steve Rice

Runner up: Barry Balaban

Third: Graham Elvidge

Highest checkout: Steve Rice: 170

Graham Elvidge: 35.79 sda.

Fastest finish: Dave Grimson: 11 darts

Division Two:

Winner: Jim Gordon

Runner-up: Dave Bartlam

Third: Oliver Mitchell

Highest checkout: Oliver Mitchell: 170

Highest average: Jim Gordon: 30.67 sda

Fastest finish: Jim Gordon: 12 darts

Best newcomer: Jim Gordon

Most improved player: Gary Kitcher

Most attended player: Martin Nix