Celebrating another great year for juniors

Junior winners at Bridlington Golf Club
Junior winners at Bridlington Golf Club

The junior section at Bridlington Golf Club held their annual prize presentation last Friday, following the popular Sydd Rudd Salver.

The weather wreaked havoc with the competition, which saw 17 teams, made up of one junior member, one senior member and one lady member, take part in the Texas Scramble format, although the event was reduced to nine holes.

Oliver Beckett, David Dufall and Anne Williams - winners of the Sydd Rudd Salver

Oliver Beckett, David Dufall and Anne Williams - winners of the Sydd Rudd Salver

The winners were the team consisting of junior Oliver Beckett, David Dufall and Anne Williams, who recorded an excellent score of 31.4.

Following the game, a packed clubhouse enjoyed watching all the junior members receive their prizes and trophies from the events held throughout the year.

Junior organiser Anthony Howarth officiated at the presentation and lady captain Viv Stevenson was on hand to present the prizes. and the club’s junior captain Matthew Raybould thanked everyone at the club for the support of the junior section.

The Junior Golfer of the Year award was presented to Raybould, who has had an outstanding year winning the East Riding Junior Championship.

The choice for Most Improved Junior Golfer was between Max Brompton and Mollie Howarth who had both seen their handicaps reduce considerably during the year.

Howarth was eventually presented the trophy by virtue of her reducing her handicap by an impressive 11 shots compared to Brompton’s equally impressive nine shots.

Sydd Rudd Salver

1st: Oliver Beckett, David Dufall, Anne Williams 31.4

2nd: Harrison Brompton, Peter Toney, Jean Thorpe 32.05

3rd: Brendan Wright, Jamie Coughlin, Sue Brompton 32.35

4th: Matthew Raybould, Dennis Poulter, Pat Neal 32.95

Junior Prizegiving

Stableford 1: Matthew Atkinson

Stableford 2: Thomas Thornton

Stableford 3: Max Brompton

Stableford 4: Josh Wilkins

Stableford 5: Kewell Walker

Stableford 6: Mollie Howarth

TW Wilson Cup: Max Brompton

Winter Knockout: Oliver Beckett

Lord Feoffees Centenary Stableford: Mollie Howarth

Clive Wilson Cup: Matthew Atkinson

Peter Brown Salver: Brendan Wright

RH James Trophy: Matthew Atkinson

Cornways Cup: Lucy Height