All change at the rugby club

Bridlington Rugby Club'New chairman Gordon Morris'PA1223-9a
Bridlington Rugby Club'New chairman Gordon Morris'PA1223-9a

A NEW regime has taken over at Bridlington RUFC, although the committee features plenty of familiar faces.

After a meeting last week, Gordy Morrice has returned to the Dukes Park outfit as chairman, a role he previously held for eight years.

He will be joined by richard Girking, who has been installed as director of rugby, replacing Kieran Lawry.

Morrice, who has served the club for 25 years, returns as chairman after stepping down three years ago.

He said: “The new committee face a number of tasks including rebuilding the playing sides at junior and senior levels.

“The first team has been very successful but we want to expand the junior section, build relationships with local schools, and try to get a third team going again.

“We are going to look at having a lot more social events at the club, and we are embarking on a two-year refurbishment of the clubhouse, third team pitch and floodlights.”

Captains for the teams will be nominated after a players’ meeting later this month, and Girking will also be appointing senior rugby coaches.

At last week’s meeting, Morrice thanked outgoing chairman Norman Lawry, as well as secretary Pam Lee who had elected to resign.

Kieran Lawry is also taking a break after leading the side to the Yorkshire Shield.

Lawry told the Free Press: “I have had a challenging, yet ultimately rewarding two years at the helm of Bridlington Rugby Club, a position which I regarded as a privilege and one that I wanted to achieve since starting my playing career here as just a young boy.

“My two seasons in charge have seen massive improvements both on and off the pitch and importantly for me the style of rugby we have played has been enjoyable to play and entertaining to watch.

“I am proud of the achievements, most notably the fantastic Yorkshire Shield win last year but also the good run in the National Cup.

“Most rewarding for me however has to be the continued development of the players, most of whom are still very young.

“I couldn’t achieve any of this without the unstinting help and support from Ben Lawry, Jamie Muru, Richard Girking and Andrew Kempton who have all contributed greatly to our success.

“It is with sadness that I have to step down but unfortunately the demands of the job are not compatible with a young family.

“The club is in a fine position and I am confident can push on and achieve promotion and further successes next year.”

The new committee also consists of president Ernie Cooper, honorary secretary Emma Ridley, finance director Clyde Horrocks, director of house buildings Tony Howarth, director of house bar and staff Roy Downing, commercial director Neil Arton, honorary solicitor Bruce Raper, Damien Towse chairman of junior section, Leigh Fulton junior section, fixture secretary Dennis Catt, team secretary Andrew Kempton and Ian Waines, who will be part of a new entertainments committee.