A great year for juniors

The winners of the Sydd Rudd Salver.
The winners of the Sydd Rudd Salver.

The junior section at Bridlington Golf Club held their annual prize presentation last Tuesday.

The presentation took place following the popular Sydd Rudd Salver, which saw 17 teams of four players take part in the Texas Scramble format, which always proves popular.

Each team consisted of two junior members, one senior member and one lady member.

The weather was very kind and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the day.

The eventual winners were the team consisting of juniors Connie Howarth and Jack Dale, and seniors Mick Jordan and Jane Howarth, who won with an excellent score of 61.0.

Also part of the winning team was Chelsea Haley who was unable to stay for the full round.

Following the competition, a packed clubhouse enjoyed watching all the junior members receive their prizes and trophies from the many events held throughout the year.

The club’s junior organiser Anthony Howarth officiated at the presentation and lady captain Pat Neal was on hand to present all the prizes.

Two special presentations were made to The Junior Golfer of the Year and The Most Improved Junior Golfer of the Year.

The first award was presented, not to an individual, but to the Junior Team who became the East Riding Junior Club Champions for the first time.

The team consisted of Mitchell Collins, Henry Howarth, Nick and Matthew Raybould.

The most improved award went to Josh Wilkins, whose handicap reduced by an incredible 25 shots during the year.

Full list of winners from the junior presentation night on page 69.

Sydd Rudd Salver

1st: Connie Howarth (Chelsea Haley), Jack Dale, Mick Jordan and Jane Howarth

2nd: Lucy Height, Nick Raybould, Martyn Scutt and Anne Day

3rd: Bradley Marshall, Sam Edwards, Vaughan Parker and Nesta Wilson

4th: Oliver Beckett, Joseph Raybould, Mike Raybould and Dot Davies