Four in the running for our main award

Bridlington Free Press Sports Awards
Bridlington Free Press Sports Awards

Four sportsmen are in contention to be named the third Bridlington Free Press Sports Person of the Year.

The standard of entries for the main award for achievements in 2013 prompted the judging panel to put four people in the running for the title, rather than whittling the shortlist down to three, like in the last two years.

Battling it out for the honour are motorcyclist James Cowton, sailing’s Mat Exon, cricketer Russ Robinson and runner Phill Taylor.

Cowton competed nationally during 2013, winning races at Oliver’s Mount and giving excellent performances on the Isle of Man.

Representing the Royal Yorkshire Yacht Club, Exon became national champion in the Dart 18 class for the second time last year.

In his first season in York Senior League Premier Division, Sewerby all-rounder Robinson topped the league batting averages with 56.71 and also finished eighth in the bowling list, claiming 40 wickets at an average of 18.60

A runner-up at last year’s awards, Taylor set a personal best in the Manchester Marathon, and won the Hull 20 and won the Roundhay Park 10k races.

Free Press sports editor John Edwards said: “As in previous years, choosing some of the winners was a very difficult task, and we didn’t always agree on who should get the trophies, but we managed to make our decisions.

“I’m sure the evening will be another great chance to tell people about the sporting talent we have here in Bridlington, and once again we will be able to spotlight a number of different sports.”

A number of other winners will be crowned at the presentation evening. The Team of the Year and School of the Year will be revealed, as will the Unsung Hero.

There will also be awards handed out for Services to Junior Sport, Services to Village Sport and the latest additions to our Lifetime Achievement hall of fame.

Bridlington Town Council will be presenting their Outstanding Contribution to the Community Through Sport honour.

The presentation evening takes place at Bridlington Rugby Club on Friday, 7 March.

Shortlists: Sports Person of the Year: James Cowton (motorcycling), Mat Exon (sailing), Russ Robinson (cricket), Phill Taylor (athletics)

Junior Sports Person of the Year: Matthew Bonnett (karting), Max Brompton (golf), Harry Pearson (all-rounder)

Junior Team of the Year: Bridlington Golf Club juniors, Martongate School boys hockey team

Coach of the Year: Damien Grant (boxing), Ivan Oliver (golf), Nick Tudor (football)

Club of the Year: Bridlington-Millau Petanque Club, Bridlington Rifle and Pistol Club, Flamborough Vikings Junior Football Club.