Things look positive for new Driffield League season

Bridlington Rovers (blue shirts) won the Premier Division last year.
Bridlington Rovers (blue shirts) won the Premier Division last year.

The Driffield and District Football League is looking to expand to 20 teams for the 2015/16 season after a successful AGM last week.

Almost all of the teams who competed last year have agreed to stay on and four new sides have signed up and will take their place in Division One.

Bridlington Snooker Centre will be involved again after a season away, and will be joined by Nafferton FC, Bridlington-based Coachman and a second team from AFC Crown, who operated as Northcote FC in recent years.

League secretary Norman Harris said: “I would like to thank all the clubs because we had a really good attendance.

“There must have been 40 people there and we only had one club who couldn’t send a representative.

“Things are looking much more positive than last season.”

After a handful of teamsdisbanded or withdrew in the early stages of last season, the only question mark for this campaign surrounds Bull and Sun, who finished bottom of Division One after a number of heavy defeats.

They had been looking to return as Corner Bar, but are short of players and will make a final decision in future weeks.

There is still time for other teams to join the league and interested parties can call Mr Harris on 01377 255050.

The make-up of the two divisions has not yet been finalised, in case there are any late additions.

Other business at the meeting saw the club unanimously reject the idea of repeat substitutions, which allows players who have been taken off earlier in a match to return to the field.

The league also announced it has received an FA Respect Award for promoting fair play.

Long-serving committee member Dave Marley was made a life vice-president and two new vice presidents were appointed, Albert Boynton and Joe Emms, after their support for the league over many years.

Thanks were also expressed to Andy Stabler and Cyril Skinner for their coverage of the league in local newspapers.

The Player of the Season winners were revealed, based on votes by their colleagues, and the trophies went to Stirling Wanderers’ Lewis Bean in the Premier Division and Jason Brookes of Bay Horse Kilham in Division One.

Finally, last season’s champions Bridlington Rovers, who will represent the Driffield League in the Dave Whitton Cup against winners of other local leagues, will take on Hull Sunday league winners Springhead Tigers at Longcroft School in Beverley on Wednesday, July 29.