Play-off win gives Lions league title

Bridlington Rangers Lions
Bridlington Rangers Lions

Bridlington Rangers Lions under 14s are the Drypool Division champions after a winner-takes-all play-off with Hedon Rangers.

The two sides had finished with 52 points and identical records during their league campaign, so a decider was played at Cranswick last thursday.

The match started well for the Lions with two early goals from Jake Lister putting the pressure on Hedon.

The well-matched teams fought hard and Hedon found themselves back in the game with an unfortunate own goal from the Lions, who went into half-time 2-1 ahead.

The second half saw Hedon throw everything at the Lions and with 20 minutes to go they equalised.

The pressure and tension was almost at breaking point when a Hedon player struck what would have been the goal of the season, had it not hit the post.

However, the Lions were not going to give the game up lightly and took the lead with five minutes to go thanks to a goal from James Precious that took the sting out of a gutsy Hedon team.

Four minutes of added injury time made the match completely unbearable to watch for both sets of parents, but the whistle finally went declaring Bridlington the champions.

Tom King, the Rangers Lions manager, said: “Both teams played very well with every player giving their all to this game.

“Assistant manager Steve Lister and I are so proud of them.

“The whole squad have proved what a credit to the league, managers, coaches and their families they are.”

The league win sees the Lions secure back to back promotions and championships.

The newly named Hull and District Youth Football League will start again in September and the Lions will go into the Myton Division, which is the top flight for their under 15s age-group.

The Lions championship-winning squad are: Daniel King, Aimee Ayre, Manny Goacher, Harry Bailey, Daniel Murray, Luke Burton, Sam Almond, Harry Connelly, Ishmael Keegan, Jake Lister (captain), Stanley Brown, James Precious, Rhys Kelly, Jack Gavin and Harrison Taylor.