New duo voted in at Scarborough Sunday League AGM

Crown Tavern and First Inn Last Out have been voted into the Scarborough News Sunday League at this evening’s AGM at the Working Men’s Club.

Wednesday, 24th June 2015, 11:56 pm

Tavern, who will play their home games at Flixton, were voted in by the 17 other clubs at the meeting, as were Whitby-based outfit First Inn Last Out, whose home ground will be at Eskdale School.

The election of the new sides is a boost to league which was left reeling by the resignations of first division sides It is It is and Klosters, along with Scarborough Sports Spa.

There will be nine teams in the first division with Barrowcliff, formerly known as Scarborough Sports Barrowcliff, Itis Itis United (who changed their name from West Riding) and Heslerton all moving up into the top flight.

The two new sides will help bring the second division up to 10 sides.

A proposal to have eight teams in the first division and 11 in the second was not passed.

Only four of the 17 rule changes proposed by member clubs were passed.

Probably the most prominent rule change was the expansion of the league’s borders to 26 miles, in order to encourage teams from new areas to join, ie Malton, Pickering, Driffield and Bridlington.

The league clubs also voted to bring in the five rolling subs rule, as per FA guidelines, in lower divisions and lower division cups, and for the return to 10am kick-offs and extra-time to the league’s cup competitions.

The fourth and final change saw the adoption of a rule which means that players can now qualify to play for a team in a semi-final in the Kenward Cup, Senior Cup and Goalsports Trophy if they have played three league games, the alteration being that these games can now include league cups, Sunday FA Cup and County cups.

Six new rules were implemented by the committee on the night.

A new cup competition for the bottom four teams in the second division is to be held at the end of the season, and the league will have awards for clubs with the highest conduct and respect marks.

A club introduction system will also kick off this season, where new clubs entering the league will be given a secretary to ‘buddy up’ with over their debut season. The benefit for the current club providing the secretarial assistance would be a reward from the league at the end of the season, such as a bag of training balls, or match balls.

Cup fixtures will be set by the date in the league handbook, and if a game is called off it will be played the following week.

Kick-off times are also now more flexible, with any time up until 2pm available as long as both teams agree and they can find a referee to take charge of the game.

A Respect Reward is also to be started, where referees will give a respect mark out of 100 for each team per game, and at the end of the season the club with the best record possibly receiving a substantial prize from the league.

The season will kick off on Sunday September 6 and close on May 31 2016, and there will be no games on December 20 and 27.

The following cup draws were made at the end of the meeting; Senior Cup first round - Fylingdales v Heslerton, Goalsports Trophy first round - Cayton Corinthians v Crown Tavern, Hull University v Ayton.

League constitution

Division one: Newlands, Trafalgar, West Pier, Fylingdales, Commercial, Whitby Wanderers, Heslerton, Itis Itis United, Barrowcliff.

Division two: Trafalgar Reserves, Cayton Corinthians, Roscoes Bar, Ayton, Alma, Fylingdales Reserves, Newlands Reserves, Hull Uni Scarborough Campus, First Inn Last Out, Crown Tavern.