Champions Rovers pick up club of the year award at ceremony

Bridlington Rovers
Bridlington Rovers

Bridlington Rovers were named East Riding FA’s Charter Standard Club of the Year, at the county’s annual awards ceremony for the 2014 FA Community Awards, last Thursday.

It topped off a memorable season for the club, who won the Premier Division of the Driffield and District League - which itself had cause for celebration as it was named FA Charter Standard League of the Year at the same ceremony.

Rovers are one of the oldest clubs in the Driffield League and were praised for their discipline and attitude to the game.

Their title success in 2013/14 followed several difficult seasons where they struggled to continue.

Club secretary Jim Crow, one of the league’s longest running secretaries, was also credited for his commitment to the club’s administrative duties.

Winners of the county award are automatically shortlisted for the regional awards and if selected there, qualify for the national shortlist.

Now in their fifth year, The FA Community Awards presented by McDonald’s, recognise and celebrate the grassroots volunteers, clubs and leagues in counties across England, who dedicate their time to grassroots football in their local community.

McDonald’s Director of Football, Sir Geoff Hurst, said: “We are fortunate that we have so many incredible volunteers up and down the country.

“The awards are a great way to say thank you to so many that spend their time maintaining the pitches, washing the kit and coaching youngsters.

“If it wasn’t for them then the game simply wouldn’t exist.

“Bridlington Rovers provide countless hours of football to the community and truly deserve the recognition.”