Flamborough win the Welford Cup

editorial image

Wold Newton batted first against Flamborough in the Welford Cup final at Ebberston.

They had a good start through James Ward who hit a fine 48 and he was well supported by veteran Will Hall who hit a fine 22.

The pick of the Flamborough bowlers were Marcus Garcia with 3-38 and a tight five overs from Harry Burton who took 1-9. At the end of their allotted 20 overs Wold Newton finished with 111/6

This “Nelson” score proved to be unlucky for Wold Newton 2nds as Flamborough won with five overs to spare and eight wickets in hand.

Opener Andy Dixon hit a fine 45 and when he was out Marcus Garcia with 30 not out and Graham Harvey’s unbeaten 19 completed the task.

The only bowler of note for Wold Newton was Paul Hill with 1-24 from his five overs.

Umpires Les Johnson and Mike Brodie, were thanked by both captains and Bob Cowton presented the Welford Cup to Flamborough.