Bridlington Cricket Club vice-captain Ricky Robinson eyes successful 2021 season

Bridlington Cricket Club first-team vice-captain Ricky Robinson has his sights set firmly on success in the 2021 cricket season despite the current Covid-19 lockdown.

Thursday, 14th January 2021, 9:00 am
Bowler Harry Burton has left Bridlington to join Driffield for the 2021 season.

Winter sport has been hit hard by the the latest lockdown and the thought of playing cricket this summer may seem very distant.

The lockdown also prevents any indoor coaching for the juniors or net practice for the seniors.

However, the fixtures for the Hunters York and District Senior League season have been released and the club is looking forward to cricket returning with the help of the vaccination programme.

Robinson said: “Like a lot of clubs, the 2021 season has already been hugely disrupted as winter nets are unable to take place, pre-season friendlies are pencilled in, but we do not know if these will go ahead.

“Nonetheless we will be prepared as best we can and be ready for when the green light is given to start some cricket.

“At the moment we haven’t made any additions to the team we fielded for the majority of the matches played in 2020.

“Adam Newington who played on loan for us last season has joined Scarborough and the Burton brothers (Harry and Alex) have joined Driffield, we wish them all the best for the 2021 season.

“We hope to have Sam Tennant available to make his first appearance for the club and strengthen our batting line up which already includes the likes of Casey Rudd, John Major and Russ Robinson.

“Should the season start when scheduled we feel our squad is strong enough to really compete in this league and help us reach our objective to play in the Premier Division.

“Although last year was completely disrupted and there wasn’t anything up for grabs, it proved a good barometer for us and showed us what we have to do to compete in the higher leagues.

“We won games against teams in our division which gives us confidence going forward but we know some of them teams have strengthened so we relish the challenge of playing them again.

“The games we lost were against teams from the Premier Division which proves we have a lot to do should we make it to the league above, two of which we were in control of and gave the opposition the win and two matches we were soundly beaten.

“I certainly hope we can start the season as scheduled without any restrictions but the priority above anything is that we continue to work together and fight this terrible virus which has caused havoc across the world.”

In the York & District League, after their opening Division One East clash on the road at Sutton-on-Hull, on Saturday April 24, Bridlington start their home campaign against Woodhouse Grange 2nds on May 1, followed two days later by a short trip to Driffield Town 2nds for a derby clash on Bank Holiday Monday at Kingsmill Road.

The home encounter against Driffield is on July 17.

There will also be a clash between local sides at Dukes Park on May 8 with Pocklington the visitors and then Scarborough 2nds head south to Brid for another derby on May 22.

Bridlington head to Pock on July 24 and then to North Marine Road on August 7.

Bridlington CC’s York & District Cricket League Division One East fixtures for 2021

Saturday April 24 v Sutton-on-Hull (away)

Saturday May 1 v Woodhouse Grange 2nds (home)

Monday May 3 v Driffield Town 2nds (away)

Saturday May 8 v Pocklington (home)

Saturday May 15 v Patrington (away)

Saturday May 22 v Scarborough 2nds (home)

Saturday May 29 v Beverley Town 2nds (away)

Saturday June 5 v Hornsea (home)

Saturday June 12 v Cottingham (away)

Saturday June 19 v Londesborough Park (home)

Saturday June 26 v Hull Zingari 2nds (away)

Saturday July 3 v Sutton-on-Hull (home)

Saturday July 10 v Woodhouse Grange 2nds (away)

Saturday July 17 v Driffield Town 2nds (home)

Saturday July 24 v Pocklington (away)

Saturday July 31 v Patrington (home).

Saturday August 7 v Scarborough 2nds (away)

Saturday August 14 v Beverley Town 2nds (home)

Saturday August 21 v Hornsea (away)

Saturday August 28 v Cottingham (home)

Saturday September 4 v Londesborough Park (away)

Saturday September 11 v Hull Zingari 2nds (home).