Clay guides Bridlington to Cayley Cup final joy

Bridlington CC 2nds
Bridlington CC 2nds

Bridlington 2nds have completed the first half of what they hope will be a league and cup double.

Andrew Leeson’s men won Sunday’s Cayley Cup T20 final at North Marine Road in Scarborough, beating Fylingdales in comprehensive fashion, thanks to a brilliant innings from Matty Clay.

They will hope the result will give them a mental advantage, going into this Saturday’s league meeting between the same teams, who are occupying the top two spots in Beckett League Division Two.

Fyilngdales batted first in the Cayle Cup final but lost early wickets to slip to 20-2.

Chris Shrimpton led the recovery, top scoring with a fine 40 which featured five fours and a six, and with contributions from Mark Estill and Guy Shrimpton took Fylingdales past the 100 mark before Carl Parkin (3-21) dismissed all three batsmen.

Ben Ibson (3-7) then mopped up the tail with five balls remaining, as Fylingdales were all out for 133.

Left-arm paceman Estill then struck in the first over, removing Andrew Clay leg before without scoring.

Then an astonishing piece of boundary fielding from Chris Shrimpton accounted for Greg Miller, also for a duck, hitting the stumps from the rope on the longest boundary on the field.

Bridlington were struggling at 15-2.

Matty Clay was joined by Steve Lount and the pair steadied things before going on the attack.

Clay was the aggressor, with left-hander Lount happy to play second fiddle, and Clay soon passed 50 and never looked back.

The pair registered a superb century partnership and despite Fylingdales’ best efforts, Bridlington were cruising.

Man of the match Clay finished unbeaten on 89 with 14 fours and a couple of maximums, while Lount chipped in with 29 not out as they romped home in 16.5 overs to claim an eight-wicket win.

League committee member Bernard Goulding thanked all for attending and purchasing raffle tickets, Scarborough CC and head groundsman John Dodds for the use of the excellent ground, the panel umpires for standing in the games and all scorers for doing an sterling job.

Before the Division Two final, Kirkbymoorside beat Seamer 2nds in the Division Three match.

Seamer made 163-6, thanks to 52 from Connor Mysercough and 37 from skipper Joe Tiffany.

But the Moorsiders’ Martin Charlton (60) and Jamie Harper smashed 88 off the first 10 overs in their reply and they eventually got over the winning line with two balls to spare.

The second T20 Finals Day will take place on Sunday at Flixton, with the Division One clash between Settrington and Wykeham at noon.

The Premier Division final, Staithes versus Seamer follows on afterwards, starting at 3pm.